Skip to content

Am I Too Old To Dream

September 9, 2014

farm equipment 3

I read this poem last Friday night at the Yoga Loka Frenchtown Open Mic.

 

Encrusted by years of neglect
my dreams lie wasted
.
Strew along the roadside
like forgotten pieces of farm equipment –
replaced by the practical efficient mechanized implements
of our day to day lives.
Idyllic scenes choked by tall weeds
which grow through the spokes of neglect.

When young I often wondered
what drove people
to forsake these things of beauty,
was tempted myself to clear away the overgrowth,
grease and oil the moveable parts now rusted,
sand and refinish the steel.
Awake their rugged personalities.
Resurrect the sun drenched strength of their owners.

Now I am encrusted myself
have given up on my better instincts.
Let things I once held high above the horizon – fall.
Trampled under my own feet
as I first ran, then marched in lock step
through the tended fields of reality.

Am I too old now, then, to dream?

Can I find some better thing? –
perhaps one which reality would call an illusion –
use it to give me guidance.
Have it serve as a North Star.
Take me through the balance of my life.
Give me hope and inspiration –

Or am I simply too old to dream?

Ray Brown

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 10:40 am

    I asked the same question(s) when I read that young men dream dreams while old me see visions.
    I now conclude that young men build that they dream then discard it while old men with wisdom in hand envision what will come of that they created in our youth and where intentions may have gone aria.

    I think you thoughts prove that old men see that young men overlook; to recreate a wheel that works well.

  2. May 22, 2013 10:47 am

    I asked the same question(s) when I read that young men dream dreams while old men see visions.
    I now conclude that young men build what they dream then discard it while old men with wisdom in hand envision what will come of that they created in our youth and where intentions may have gone aria.

    I think your thoughts prove that old men see that which young men overlook; to recreate a wheel that works well.

  3. May 22, 2013 11:00 am

    A wonderful poem…love how you built the theme of the poem.

  4. Ray Brown permalink*
    May 22, 2013 1:17 pm

    Thank you for reading. I appreciate your insights.

  5. Ray Brown permalink*
    May 22, 2013 1:18 pm

    Thank you. I am appreciative of your comments.

  6. May 23, 2013 4:23 am

    Obviously not – when you write like this!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 9, 2014 7:31 pm

    Awesome as always! Love it.

  8. Ray Brown permalink*
    September 10, 2014 6:42 am

    Thank you

Leave a comment