Skip to content

Alone with My Thoughts

November 4, 2014

 

Alone with My Thoughts

Alone with my thoughts.
Shunned by the darkness.
Captured by the silent reaches of my mind.
Judgments echo through the shadowy corridors.
Reverberate within the walls of my soul.
I am lost.

I long for an anchor.
A place where I can moor my ship.
Await calmer seas.

There is a choice
between a shining chrome alloy pole
constructed of my own being –

and an older wooden one
worn by the sea salt,
requiring much faith.

But if I could rely on the one of my hands
would I be alone,
searching, to begin with?

Ray Brown

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam373 permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:32 am

    The Truing Post. A term few remember. A post that cast no shadowed at noon is said to be true.
    So often I must true myself to that post in the center of my life or I too would become lost. I truly enjoyed this.

  2. edie permalink
    March 23, 2011 10:07 pm

    I never heard of a trupost so if it hadn’t been for the comment below I would still be wondering where this came from?

Leave a Reply

