Skip to content

Spaces

May 20, 2013

Pebble on the BeachCan you leave a part of yourself in a place?

Not just any place, of course.

But some especial place.

There are a few spaces on this earth which have touched me at a special time.

The memories which they hold because of my companion.

Shelter provided in my solitude and loneliness.

 But can you leave a part of yourself there?

Is there a way you can become a permanent part of a place?

Etched in its memory, as it is in yours?

Something which the winds of change and the sands of time cannot erode.

Throughout the ages, men have sought to build monuments to themselves in those places

                which they have touched.

Some have endured.  Their architects and artists long since forgotten.  Perhaps never known.

 

As for me, I will cherish being just one more pebble on the beach,

known only to myself

and the one who loves me enough to have placed me there.

And this one act, and that small stone in a big place,

Will mean everything to me – I – having lost myself – in the place.

 

Ray Brown

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2013 11:10 am

    I love the “I will cherish being just one more pebble on the beach, known only to myself..” it reflects to me a self-appreciation and confidence in what one has done with their life…a most pleasant read.

  2. Ray Brown permalink*
    May 20, 2013 3:12 pm

    thanks for reading again. I am sorry I have not posted for awhile or interacted with you about your writing. I still regularly read.

    http://slpmartin.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 892 other followers

