Skip to content

The Bird at My Window

May 16, 2013

There each day to greet me.
7 am – just as the sun begins its
arc across the southern sky.

The night before on the plain wooden sill
I leave him a few seeds.
In the morning I watch – he bends to pick them up
head swivels effortlessly
as if on twisted spring.
Always alert,
watching for the dangers in his world.

He arrived almost casually one day.
Though now I wonder whether his sojourn was deliberate.
He had no reason to alight here
on my gray sill in the countryside.

This morning when I walked into the room
my shadow startled him  and he was gone.

For days now,
I’ve wondered whether I could entice him to return –
his life and mine
intertwined for brief, but tender moments.
As with many friendships
there was an ebb and flow.
Will we find ourselves longing for these moments?
Will we call this history - “better times”?
Will he return to this spot again
looking for me
as I do for him each morning?

Ray Brown

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 11:36 am

    Anytime I need to have a warm feeling in my heart…I read one of your poems…it almost always does the trick…thanks for another fine poem.

  2. Cousin Judy permalink
    June 3, 2010 3:59 pm

    Lovely poem.

  3. Ray Brown permalink*
    June 13, 2010 8:07 am

    Thank you once again. As a writer yourself, I am sure you appreciate how wonderful your comment makes me feel.

  4. Ray Brown permalink*
    June 13, 2010 8:09 am

    Trust thngs are well Judy. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 891 other followers

