Skip to content

A Window with the Sunshine

April 28, 2013

I want to sit in a window with the sunshine.

 

When I grow old, that’s all I want -

A restaurant window in the sunshine.

 

My friend, the cherished actor

had his choice of any seat his fame desired.

The maître d’ prepared a quiet table in the corner.

Privacy from peering eyes and boisterous strangers.

 

But for all his years in the limelight,

He sought only one thing –

A window in the sunshine.

 

More than fresh air -

the generous rays of warmth

envelope a personality, etch calm in body and soul.

Solace in elder years.

 

I harkened back to my younger days.

A quiet table in a dark corner, dim lights,

comforted and provided security for me

and the one I loved.

 

And then in middle years, a table twice removed, assuaged my ego.

Assured me of my importance.

Sheltered me from the very fame I sought.

 

And now….and now….

 

As the tide of life recedes,

 

I want to sit in a window with the sunshine.

Ray Brown

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 10:03 am

    Just a wonderful poem Ray…as I read it aloud I could see all those same stages in my life and I too long for that window in the sunshine…thanks ever so much for this one.

  2. edie permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:11 pm

    Don’t want to go there yet….we are too young to be so dark….I want to sit on the BEACH in the sunshine, maybe, nice poem, not so nice message….

  3. Ray Brown permalink*
    May 23, 2010 8:41 pm

    I am kind of resigned to where I am at — and enjoy the sunlight in the window….Thanks for continuing to read.

  4. Ray Brown permalink*
    May 23, 2010 8:42 pm

    we need to have lunch together there some time

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 891 other followers

