Skip to content

Today I Heard My Love Song

February 6, 2012

Today I Heard My Love Song

Today I heard a love song.

A faint reminiscence from long ago
when dreams did not seem beyond my grasp.

Faded memories stirred.
Those mornings when images of her
filled my every waking moment.
When visions accompanied me as vivid companions
throughout the day – until I returned to her at night.

Now but a dim distant feeling,
a metaphor I can barely recall
indistinguishable in the mist that clouds
those long ago emotions.
She simply lingers,
not even now a gray daydream.
Love unrequited.

But this song which then captured my heart,
remains.

Today I heard my love song.

Ray Brown

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 12:51 pm

    Such lovely memories engendered by songs from our youth…beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers

